Reviews for 'Adults'


208 reviews available
Check Availability
Title
Lethal Beauty
Author
Lis Wiehl with April Henry
Review
The circle of deaths keep expanding in this contemporary mystery/thriller featuring Seattle Prosecutor Mia Quinn - who is still wading through grief after the death of her husband, raising a young daughter and fully adolescent son. Life at home and at the office are incredibly challenging!  Check Availability
Date Posted
7/23/2015
Check Availability
Title
In the Time of the Butterflies
Author
Julia Alvarez
Review
I really rnjoyed this book, it gives a lived reality during Trujillos reign in the Dominican Republic. The Mirabal sisters are amazingly women and thoughtfully written about in this book. Alvarez really gives a holistic view of their lives and their work.   Check Availability
Date Posted
7/21/2015
Check Availability
Title
I Am Malala: The Girl Who Stood Up for Education and Was Shot by the Taliban
Author
Malala Yousafzai
Review
I really enjoyed this book. Since I heard of Malala's story I looked up to her valor and now that I have read her story. Malala is one of my heroes. This book gave a lot of insight not only to her life but also to the lives of many girls who are denied education all over the world.   Check Availability
Date Posted
7/21/2015
Check Availability
Title
The Ice House
Author
Minette Walters
Review
First mystery by a now prolific author combines a decade old mystery with a newly discovered body and an powerful portrayal of how vicious gossip can be in a small English town. Contemporary setting with a combination of police procedural and deft exploration of social mores. Deserved winner of Britain’s John Creasey Award for best first crime novel.  Check Availability
Date Posted
7/21/2015
Check Availability
Title
Red, White, and Blood
Author
Christopher Farnsworth
Review
As with prior Nathaniel Cade novels, the only part of this book that really drew me in was the end battle. Everything leading up to it was alright, albeit some of it was interesting. But the end is where I am captivated till the end of the epilogue. I can't wait to read the next book and figure out what happens next.  Check Availability
Date Posted
7/21/2015
Check Availability
Title
Love,again
Author
Eve Pell
Review
A touching book delving into the taboo of romance after 60. Great stories about couples brave enough to allow love into their lives again and how it changed them for the better. The lesson we learn is that one is never too old for love. I enjoyed reading about successful relationships based on kindness and compassion.  Check Availability
Date Posted
7/20/2015
Check Availability
Title
Five Kingdoms Crystal Keepers
Author
Brandon Mull
Review
My son read this book first and kept pestering and pestering me till I had time to read it. It is the third book out of five. The last two books haven't been written yet! This book does such an excellent job of creating a new world with new rules and ways of doing things but also making them very believable. I love the fact that the hero is so loyal. Even when things are tugging at him, including his best friend, he stays true to his purpose and those who have stood by him. Our teens need more examples of this in their lives--we need every day teen heroes who are loyal to their friends, family, and underdogs!  Check Availability
Date Posted
7/20/2015
Check Availability
Title
The False Prince
Author
Jennifer A. Nielsen
Review
We listened to The False Prince during our summer school program. Even the Jr. High boys who don't like to read loved this story! The main character, a boy about 14 years old, is witty, sarcastic, a little rebellious, and tough as nails. What's not to like;-)  Check Availability
Date Posted
7/20/2015
Check Availability
Title
Jinn and Juice
Author
Nicole Peeler
Review
Fun urban fantasy about the final week of what could be the end of a young woman turned jinn's thousand years of servitude. If only she can be 'unbound' at midnight on that last day. Lots of vividly drawn characters in contemporary Pittsburgh - very few of whom are human. I'll be tracking down the author's first series.  Check Availability
Date Posted
7/20/2015
Check Availability
Title
Sharp Objects
Author
Gillian Flynn
Review
I was interested in reading this book because I'd just finished reading Gone Girl and had seen the movie. I was fascinated by the lead female character's strength yet how psychologically cunning she was. I wanted to see how Gillian Flynn had crafted her very first novel so I chose Sharp Objects. To me the book started off slow with a reporter trying to report on a murder in a small town but as you learn more about her and the other characters in the town you will be immediately sucked into the plot of this story. I couldn't put the book down. This is a fairly quick read and a good mystery with characters you've likely never run into before.   Check Availability
Date Posted
7/20/2015
Check Availability
Title
Ripped from the Pages
Author
Kate Carlisle
Review
It’s back home to her family’s Northern California commune for our favorite book-restoration expert. She gets involved with a mystery about why a cave filled with valuable furnishings, artwork, and more was closed up 70 years ago. And in the cave is the body of a man known to the guru of the commune. A spell-binding read!
  Check Availability
Date Posted
7/19/2015
Check Availability
Title
The five people you meet in heaven
Author
Mitch Albom
Review
Having seen this book described by another reader, I read it and enjoyed it as a very tightly written novel about the life of an 83 year old veteran who dies in an accident at the amusement park where Eddie’s father held the same job. As the title indicates, five people whom Eddie meets after death help him understand the sometimes hidden connections in life and the values which drove Eddie’s own life. Though it is an extremely well told story – and we are all hazarding our best guess about what happens after death – I felt that the story under-rated eternity.  Check Availability
Date Posted
7/19/2015
Check Availability
Title
The Last Runaway
Author
Tracy Chevalier
Review
Honor Bright and her sister Grace set out for Ohio from their Quaker community in England to meet Grace's fiance who had already established a business in the young United States. After Grace's untimely death, Honor finds herself in an awkward household of three with Grace's intended and his recently-widowed sister-in-law. As Honor learns to live in Ohio and makes a place for herself in the community, she has to reconcile her convictions about participating in the Underground Railroad with the beliefs of those around her.  Check Availability
Date Posted
7/19/2015
Check Availability
Title
Go Set a Watchman
Author
Harper Lee
Review
Excellent read! This book involves the same characters and setting as Lee's To Kill a Mockingbird, but readers who haven't read that classic will still enjoy this brand new sequel. Go Set a Watchman examines clashing ideals and realities of the civil rights era in the South during Jean Louise Finch's annual trip home to Maycomb to visit Atticus.  Check Availability
Date Posted
7/19/2015
Check Availability
Title
Crash & Burn
Author
Lisa Gardner
Review
Gripping contemporary thriller; the heroine has had multiple concussions of which the latest was in a single vehicle car accident. Her desperate search for her child Vero takes her through decades of conflicting memories. Twists and turns galore; the writing is fearsome and definitely upped the adrenaline as I read it. Highly recommended.  Check Availability
Date Posted
7/18/2015
Check Availability
Title
Sylvia Day
Author
The Stranger I Married
Review
The book is set in the 1800s which worried me at first. Day does a great job at using phrases that would be heard in that time period without confusing a contemporary reader. The names were hard to keep track of until a few chapters in when everything fell into place. This place transports you in time and allows you to see the sexual desires of people during that time that many books do not usually include. I was quickly invested in the book and couldn't wait to keep reading. This book is not too long and is great for adult readers. This book is a 4.5/5.  Check Availability
Date Posted
7/17/2015
Check Availability
Title
Maybe One day
Author
Melissa Kantor
Review
I give this book a 4/5. At the beginning I thought this was too easy of a read. As the story continues the characters are built up together and you fall in love with their relationships. By the end of the book I was so invested. I think this book is great for teen readers because it shows a different aspect for what it is like for your best friend get cancer.   Check Availability
Date Posted
7/17/2015
Check Availability
Title
Pledged
Author
Alexandra Robbins
Review
I came across this book at the Lafayette Library and was immediately intrigued. Alexandra Robbins went undercover at a sorority for an entire academic year and the experiences she relates are fascinating, and very much on par with what I experienced in my sorority days as well! I devoured this book, it rang very true for me, and yet I still remember those days fondly, despite the craziness that Robbins documents so well.  Check Availability
Date Posted
7/17/2015
Check Availability
Title
The Edge of Dreams
Author
Rhys Bowen
Review
Molly Murphy is a new mother but her marriage to a Captain of the NYC police force seems to be making her a target of a serial killer. The tensions of protecting herself and her young son, while finding a way to keep her own investigative skills sharp in the midst of early 20th century expectations of married women kept me engaged. I strongly recommend the series featuring this Irish immigrant and suggest that if you are new to Rhys Bowen's work that you start with the first book (Murphy's Law) and read them in order; this is #14 in the series.
And then you might want to sample Ms. Bowen's two other mystery series!  Check Availability
Date Posted
7/17/2015
Check Availability
Title
The Accidental Alchemist
Author
Gigi Pandian
Review
Entertaining urban fantasy murder mystery with a heroine who is trying to settle down in a new home for the first time in decades but her life is complicated by gargoyle who joins her in Portland. Well drawn characters... adolescent and adult neighbors alike. And yummy vegan recipes, too.  Check Availability
Date Posted
7/17/2015
208 reviews available