Reviews for 'Adults'


153 reviews available
Check Availability
Title
Where She Went
Author
Gayle Forman
Review
Wow what a ride!!I loved this book so much!!!It was much better from the first!!I adored the first and I wanted to know if these characters will have the ending I wanted!!The emotions were so intense in this book!!I could feel Adam's pain and anger like I was in his shoes!!In this book like the previous,memories are include from back then,sad and happy moments.This book was so realistic!Ifelt like these characters excist in real life!!  Check Availability
Date Posted
7/18/2014
Check Availability
Title
If I Stay
Author
Gayle Forman
Review
If I Stay by Gayle Foreman was a mixed bag for me. It was certainly a quick read and I enjoyed myself, but I wasn't blown away by it as many of my friends were. This novel tells the story of seventeen year old Mia Hall who is severely injured in a car accident that kills her parents and younger brother. While her body is comatose, Mia's spirit watches her friends and family rally in support of her while recalling poignant moments in her life as she decides whether or not to live or die.  Check Availability
Date Posted
7/18/2014
Check Availability
Title
Cut and Thrust
Author
STUART WOODS
Review
If you want a look at how "the other half" lives, those with boundless resources, private jets and important acquaintances, read Stuart Woods's Stone Barrigton novels. They're fast reading and always entertaining. In this and the most recent books, he's dealt with the national political scene with a tongue in cheek reference to current events. Give it a try.  Check Availability
Date Posted
7/18/2014
Check Availability
Title
Better Off Friends
Author
Elizabeth Eulberg
Review
Blimey that was brilliant!

Better off Friends is a heartfelt, romantic novel about two best friends who are completely blind to each other. I love Elizabeth Eulberg and she did not disappoint with this title. Her main characters are both strong and flawed which makes them believable and human. I could not put this book down until I'd finished it. Her voice has humor, the stories feel real, and best of all, she makes you fall in love.  Check Availability
Date Posted
7/17/2014
Check Availability
Title
Two Ravens and One Crow
Author
Kevin Hearne
Review
Another novella in the Iron Druid Chronicles, and much more amusing than the first. Atticus meets up with the Morrigan to heal his scarred hand and gets much more than he bargained for. Hilarious from beginning till end.  Check Availability
Date Posted
7/17/2014
Check Availability
Title
The Geography of You and Me
Author
Jennifer E. Smith
Review
I LOVED this book! I was sucked in by the first page and then was happy to go along with Lucy and Owen on their journeys. They are only with each other for a short space of time, but when they are together, it's amazing! Home really is where the heart is.
I loved the setting and descriptions of where the characters lived and traveled to.  Check Availability
Date Posted
7/17/2014
Check Availability
Title
The Skin Collector
Author
Jeffery Deaver
Review
If one could assimilate and retain all the information in a Jeffery Deaver Lincoln Rhyme novel, one would become an extremely knowledgeable individual. The Skin Collector is the 26th Deaver novel I've read and it never ceases to amaze me that he can squeeze so many curves and twists into his plots. On a scale of five, I give this one a six.  Check Availability
Date Posted
7/17/2014
Check Availability
Title
The Savior Generals
Author
Victor Davis Hanson
Review
What makes the perfect hero, general, war? These moments in history, these men were not perfect, but where they perfect for the events they were in? This is how history should be taught. Everyone taking a history course or going through school should read this. After all history always repeats, wouldn't be wise to know what will happen?  Check Availability
Date Posted
7/16/2014
Check Availability
Title
Half World
Author
Hiromi Goto
Review
Afterlife, despair, poverty. Lot's of topics that a teenager might be interested in reading if presented like this author did. Coming of age book, nothing like the story-lines that are in the movie theaters today. Go Read It!  Check Availability
Date Posted
7/16/2014
Check Availability
Title
The Farm
Author
Rob Smith
Review
Sweet! Finally something to get excited about. Parents with conflicting stories, a grown son caught in the middle. The mother claiming the town is against her, trying to commit her..... truly an interesting book.  Check Availability
Date Posted
7/16/2014
Check Availability
Title
The Fault In Our Stars
Author
John Green
Review
Tear jerking all the way. Wish something similar would come out that I could share with my kids, this book had some adult themes, too adult for my teen kids.   Check Availability
Date Posted
7/16/2014
Check Availability
Title
Gone Girl
Author
Gillian Flynn
Review
Masterpiece. Author was able to write from more than one person for the same story line, I had no idea what was happening...... and loved that I couldn't predict the ending.  Check Availability
Date Posted
7/16/2014
Check Availability
Title
One Plus One
Author
Jojo Moyes
Review
Interesting to see the played out story of a single mom trying to raise her children while the father has an excuse not to be there. Yet, the story is touching, it could be your neighbor and perhaps some people do get a fairy tale ending.  Check Availability
Date Posted
7/16/2014
Check Availability
Title
The Vacationers
Author
Emma Straub
Review
Interesting book, wasn't what I was expecting. Real life drama, from the parents broken marriage, to the son's current failures and the daughter trying to grow up. All characters working through issues and we get to watch their private struggles and maybe learn something.  Check Availability
Date Posted
7/16/2014
Check Availability
Title
The Lobster Kings
Author
Alexi Zentner
Review
Very interesting storyline based on a family that could trace their ancestors. Intertwined amazing visual's and legend and myths. Plus characters dealt with real current crime issues. I would recommend this book.   Check Availability
Date Posted
7/16/2014
Check Availability
Title
The Giver
Author
Lois Lowry
Review
How have I missed out on this book for so many years? The premise of living a life without agency is something to think about. I can't tell you how often I have wished (prayed) for a world filled with only peace and happiness, where no one feels pain, hunger or sadness. This book made me seriously rethink that wish and realize that without feeling the depths of sadness, we can never know happiness. What an amazing story!  Check Availability
Date Posted
7/16/2014
Check Availability
Title
Sweethearts
Author
Sara Zarr
Review
It's the kind of a book you sink into and feel immersed in the world and story. It was a quiet but compelling read and I enjoyed pretty much every minute of it. Zarr has this way of writing so that her sentences are emotive in the most subtle and unassuming of ways. I don't know how she does it, as her prose is quite simple, yet I felt moved as the story unfolded and I was captivated by both Jenna and Cameron's story.  Check Availability
Date Posted
7/16/2014
Check Availability
Title
Gone Girl
Author
Gillian Flynn
Review
This was an amazing book. There were many twists and turns and I kept on wondering what actually happened to Amy. Hearing the story from Amy and Nick's point of view made me see each character differently. Recommend this book to anyone who craves a really good mystery suspense thriller with many twists.   Check Availability
Date Posted
7/15/2014
Check Availability
Title
I Shall Be Near to You
Author
Erin Lindsay McCabe
Review
A woman secretly volunteers as a (male) Union soldier in the Civil War to be with her husband who has also volunteered. Fascinating story based on historical details of real-life women in the Civil War.   Check Availability
Date Posted
7/15/2014
Check Availability
Title
Absence of Mercy
Author
John Burley
Review
Excellent thriller about serial killings with a very unusual killer. Great portrayal of a mother and he devotion to her son.  Check Availability
Date Posted
7/15/2014
153 reviews available