Reviews for 'Adults'


355 reviews available
Check Availability
Title
Alanna The First Adventure
Author
Tamora Pierce
Review
Alanna has a twin brother named Tom. Their father is sending them away to begin their apprenticeships--one to a convent to learn magic and one to the castle to learn to be a knight. The twins switch places to pursue what is dear to their hearts. The catch is that Alanna has to pretend to be a boy, and entering the world of pages on the path to knighthood is not easy for a girl pretending to be a boy!  Check Availability
Date Posted
8/13/2015
Check Availability
Title
Green Chic
Author
Christie Matheson
Review
This cutsey, frivolous and outdated book of advice and resources seems to be written by someone with a teenage mentality.She did not take recycling or global warming seriously enough, noting where she varied from what she knew she was supposed to do because of the "yuck" factor. Had she limited her book to fashion advice it would have been more successful.  Check Availability
Date Posted
8/13/2015
Check Availability
Title
The Blue Sword
Author
Robin McKinley
Review
Wow. Wonderfully told story of a young woman snatched from her safe but stuffy home on the border of a not-quite-conquered land who finds some surprising depths in herself. Well crafted fantasy (with horses, too!).  Check Availability
Date Posted
8/12/2015
Check Availability
Title
Tripwire
Author
Lee Child
Review
The third Jack Reacher novel starts with Reacher apparently settling down in Florida - he's been there all of three months. But a NY private eye tracks him down, gets killed, and Reacher traces the problems back to the New York area. The good news is reconnecting with the now adult daughter of his commanding officer; the bad news is very nasty and reaches back to Vietnam.  Check Availability
Date Posted
8/12/2015
Check Availability
Title
Pride and Prejudice
Author
Jane Austen
Review
Truly, the perfect novel. I revisit Jane Austen's works annual - and I am always floored by how incredibly witty she is, how beautifully she draws every character, and how her prose stands the test of time. To read Jane Austen is to understand life better.   Check Availability
Date Posted
8/12/2015
Check Availability
Title
The Death Cure
Author
James Dashner
Review
The ending to the Maze Runner trilogy. The reason I don't give it a perfect score is because the ending made me feel empty and even though I was happy with the ending it could have been a lot better. Still a great read though even if one of my favorite characters doesn't come to the end.   Check Availability
Date Posted
8/12/2015
Check Availability
Title
The Invention of Hugo Cabret
Author
Brian Selznick
Review
This novel tells the story of Hugo Cabret, the son of a clockmaker in Paris. He is enchanted with mechanics as well, so he begins winding the clocks in the train station after his father dies and his uncle vanishes. Before he died, Hugo's father told him about a mysterious mechanical man, an automaton almost beyond repair. Hugo does his best to repair it, and finds both new friends and discoveries about the beginnings of the movie industry.   Check Availability
Date Posted
8/12/2015
Check Availability
Title
Brave New World
Author
Aldous Huxley
Review
This novel describes a dystopian world in which all conflict is eliminated in order to make everyone happy. People are conditioned to be accustomed to their particular caste, and only enjoy the duties they are assigned. This novel follows a "savage" who enters the civilization and must reconcile its horrible reality with the tales he has heard. This was a fascinating, but frightening read.   Check Availability
Date Posted
8/12/2015
Check Availability
Title
The Silkworm
Author
Robert Galbraith (J.K. Rowling)
Review
This is the second book in the Cormoran Strike mystery series. Once again, J. K Rowling's prowess at writing mysteries shines through. Narrative misdirection keeps you guessing until the end about the true culprit. The relationship between Cormoran and Robin grows stronger in this sequel, and I am looking forward to the next installment!  Check Availability
Date Posted
8/12/2015
Check Availability
Title
The Architecture of Happiness
Author
Alain de Botton
Review
A lovely philosophical discussion of what is beauty and what is happiness, certainly it is in the eye of the beholder, as the familiar is a "transubstantiation of our individual ideals". The author claims all architectural styles speak of an understanding of happiness. He asks us to look at each style and accept it on its own terms rather than see it through the eyes of history. Lots of great photographs helped me see the connection of psychology, philosophy, history and architecture and rethink my ideas of beauty and happiness.  Check Availability
Date Posted
8/11/2015
Check Availability
Title
Chicken Soup for the Pet Lover's Soul
Author
Jack Canfield, Mark Victor Hansen, Marty Becker, Carol Kline
Review
Aptly named these stories were a warm comforting soothing feeling for the heart and soul. I have heard of pets as healers in homes for the elderly before, but healers to their masters by causing them to discover a tumor was amazing. The hero stories reminded me of Lassie, of my childhood. One story about a woman in France who let an American woman hold her cat when she saw the longing in her eyes, showed me how humans can be more compassionate because of their pets.  Check Availability
Date Posted
8/11/2015
Check Availability
Title
A Fine Romance
Author
Candice Bergen
Review
This is Candice Bergen's second memoir. It takes up where Knock Wood left off with her marriage to French filmmaker Louise Malle, and then covers the birth and coming of age of her daughter Chloe, the Murphy Brown years, Louis Malle's death, and Bergen's marriage to real estate developer Marshall Rose. Her descriptions of the Hollywood and New York social scenes are memorable, as is her dry sense of humor. Highly recommended.  Check Availability
Date Posted
8/11/2015
Check Availability
Title
Chasing Darkness
Author
Robert Crais
Review
Chasing Darkness is a great detective story. It's a whodunit page-turner set in Los Angeles and starring wisecracking PI Elvis Cole and his taciturn sidekick Joe Pike. There are enough clever twists and turns that the ending surprised me.  Check Availability
Date Posted
8/11/2015
Check Availability
Title
Eye of the Tempest
Author
Nicole Peeler
Review
Number four (out of six so far) has hafling Selkie Jane True making a lot of important decisions: whether to trust Blondie, the strangely powerful entity offering help; how to 'seal the deal' with her new love interest; if she really should keep spelunking into those caves in search of something of immense power below her beloved home town in Maine. Decisions, decisions!  Check Availability
Date Posted
8/11/2015
Check Availability
Title
Tempest Legacy
Author
Nicole Peeler
Review
Number three in the series featuring halfling selkie Jane True who is coming into her own; unfortunately the growth of her powers is not optional as she and other supernaturals are investigating gruesome attacks on and murders of females..human, halfling and supernatural. The series keeps getting better!  Check Availability
Date Posted
8/11/2015
Check Availability
Title
Raising Steam
Author
Terry Pratchett
Review
Disclaimer: I am overly sentimental and the concept of this book ties together an author I enjoy and a topic that is dear to my heart. So I really wanted to love this book.

But I didn't.

It fell flat for me. The characters didn't seem themselves nor did the author's writing style. Given Mr. Pratchett's Alzheimer's, it doesn't come as a surprise, but saddening none the less.

Raising Steam introduces the first locomotive to Discworld. Young Dick Simnel, engineer, gains the financial support of Sir Harry King to bring the city of Ankh-Morpork into the Age of Steam. Lord Vetinari conscripts Moist von Lipwig to represent the government in this endeavor.

Of course nothing is as simple as building a railway across Discworld. Opposition is found in a group of Dwarves who seek to overthrow their King. This drives the plot, but in my option, not all that well.   Check Availability
Date Posted
8/11/2015
Check Availability
Title
If I Can't Have You
Author
Mary B. Morrison
Review
This book is really a plot that not only thickens, but it also continue with the lives of Madison(the southern bell with a beauty to boot), Loretta(a single mother who hangs on to getting back with her daughter's father), Tisha (a woman who marries for love and not money) all friends in which their friendship is tested. I did want to give up too much, but throw in some sex, betrayal, as well as suspense.  Check Availability
Date Posted
8/11/2015
Check Availability
Title
Gentle Birth, Gentle Mothering: A Doctor's Guide to Natural Childbirth and Gentle Early Parenting Choices
Author
Sarah Buckley
Review
Great book for any mom to be! Tons of research and information but presented in very easy to digest sections. Highly recommend regardless of whether you are advocate of natural childbirth or no - it educates you on the choices available. Read with an open mind and take what resonates with you.  Check Availability
Date Posted
8/10/2015
Check Availability
Title
The Paris Wife
Author
Paula McLain
Review
Paula McLain unravels a mersmerizing story about the great American author, Ernest Hemingway, and his first wife, Hadley—the one and only woman he ever truly loved. Readers are bound to be drawn by this passionate tale of love and lost, if not for the joy of vicariously experiencing the unique vibe of Paris and the artist community in the 1920s.   Check Availability
Date Posted
8/10/2015
Check Availability
Title
The Shack
Author
Wm. Paul Young
Review
Before I read this book I thought that I knew about being a Christian (God, Jesus, and the Holy Ghost.

Reading this book it really opened up a lot of questions I often have. I really enjoyed reading this book.  Check Availability
Date Posted
8/10/2015
355 reviews available