Reviews for 'Adults'


116 reviews available
Check Availability
Title
Plain Killing
Author
Emma Miller
Review
The ways of the Amish are explained as part of the unraveling of this mystery of the death of a young woman who left her family but was in the process of returning to her once-safe life. The main character in this book also had left her Amish life but still lives near her family and tries to reconcile two different worlds as she helps to solve the mystery.
  Check Availability
Date Posted
7/2/2015
Check Availability
Title
Rise of the Huntress
Author
Joseph Delaney
Review
Tom and the Spook are back from Greece only to find their home gone. After fleeing to an Island called Mona, they quickly find themselves in trouble once more when they realize what followed them from the County. Not as interesting as previous books in the series but at least new creatures are introduced to help keep things fresh.  Check Availability
Date Posted
7/2/2015
Check Availability
Title
Gone With the Wind
Author
Margaret Mitchell
Review
A masterpiece. The South's answer to Uncle Tom's Cabin. Margaret Mitchell's writing is so vivid that reading the book exhausts me, as though I were fighting the Yankees myself. The first time I read this book, I couldn't put it down. The heroine, Scarlett O'Hara, is a petted, spoiled southern girl, but her strong, independent personality is much better suited to life in the wild west. She is a personality out of place and out of time. Nevertheless, as the strongest in the family, her whole family and her friends too come to rely on her when their world falls apart during the civil war. An unregrettable read.  Check Availability
Date Posted
7/2/2015
Check Availability
Title
Betsy and Joe
Author
Maud Hart Lovelace
Review
Among my favorites of the Betsy-Tacy series. It's Betsy's senior year and she has to choose between a boy dating her, Joe Willard, whom she really likes, and Tony Markham, who is an old friend of the family and whom she doesn't want to disappoint. She would rather go with Joe, but she is afraid if she says no to Tony, he'll run with the wrong crowd and get into trouble and she DOES enjoy being with him. She just doesn't love him. In the end she graduates high school and closes a chapter in her life.  Check Availability
Date Posted
7/2/2015
Check Availability
Title
The Astronaut Wives Club: A True Story
Author
Lily Koppel
Review
The author's gossipy and far too cutesy tone is annoying at times. However, this book is well worth reading for its content--a fascinating look at the lives and times of the wives of the Mercury, Gemini, and Apollo astronauts.  Check Availability
Date Posted
7/1/2015
Check Availability
Title
The Bride Price
Author
Buchi Emecheta
Review
13 year-old Aku-nna and her little brother Nna-nndo live in the city of Lagos, Nigeria. While their mother Ma Blackie is away at the village Ibuza undergoing a ritual fertility treatment, their father Ezekiel Odia dies suddenly, and all is lost. I love the simple, straight-forward way Emecheta writes about this family's faults and virtues alike. The reader comes to know them, and feel for them, and gain a sense of respect for their way of life - the way Africans selflessly care for their neighbors, and the children of others, with decency and pride.

We root for Aku-nna and her one true love, we want her to enjoy the fruit of her academic labors, to escape the unsophisticated backwater ways of her family's village roots... but ultimately the book is a cautionary tale, via tribal ritual. Beautiful and haunting.
  Check Availability
Date Posted
7/1/2015
Check Availability
Title
Black Swan Green
Author
David Mitchell
Review
I loved the voice of narrator Jason Taylor - stuttering adolescent on the brink of insanity, bullied and brilliant. While I disliked the author's signature jerky shifts from time and place to different time and place, and not knowing whether a scene was actually happening or merely taking place in Jace's fevered imagination, it totally helped me identify with his own discomfort.
  Check Availability
Date Posted
7/1/2015
Check Availability
Title
Obsessive Genius
Author
Barbara Goldsmith
Review
Straight-forward chronicle of Maria Curie's life and family. Goldsmith does a brilliant job articulating Curie's scientific discoveries in a way the lay person can follow, but she constantly alluded to various inaccurate myths about the Curies that I had not been aware of, and thus found distracting.

Even though this isn't the world's most scintillating prose, I did like the description of the bizarre hype around radioactivity and also post-WWI paparazzi, and for the love of three generations of leading lady scientists.   Check Availability
Date Posted
7/1/2015
Check Availability
Title
Digging to America
Author
Anne Tyler
Review
Two families meet at the airport in Baltimore, both picking up infant adopted Korean daughters who happen to be arriving on the same flight. Jin-Ho is delivered to Bitsy and Brad Donaldson, and Sooki's new parents are Ziba and Sami Yazdan.

Every aspect of foreignness imaginable is explored, where aloof Grandmother Maryam feels foreign in her native land, her adopted land, even in her social circles; where haphazard Bitsy feels foreign in her own home; where cultures collide and converge and even mesh. This book is also about friendship and loss and insecurity and parenting, and about victory of humanity's better nature despite our most ingrained traits (cultural and otherwise).   Check Availability
Date Posted
7/1/2015
Check Availability
Title
The Burgess Boys
Author
Elizabeth Strout
Review
Brothers Jim and Bob have big lives after leaving home and making their career choices. Sister Susan isstuck in their hometown. Her son Zach is in trouble that only the uncles can help turn around. A secret in past determines current events and outcome.  Check Availability
Date Posted
7/1/2015
Check Availability
Title
The Children's Crusade
Author
Ann Packer
Review
The Blair family story is told from each member's perspective: that of Bill and Penny and their four children Robert, Rebecca, Ryan and James. I would've preferred some variety in the voices of the 3Rs, but that must've been the point - to delineate drastic differences between the three planned first pregnancies and the other.

It's interesting to think about someone so unhappy in a marriage that they're unhappy with their children also. Or so overwhelmed with their babies that they escape them altogether. But maybe not enough to warrant 432 pages.   Check Availability
Date Posted
7/1/2015
Check Availability
Title
The Queen of the Tearling
Author
Erike Johansen
Review
After the Hunger Games, Divergent, Maze Runner etc. I took a long break from reading any Trilogies, but the reviews of this one pulled me back in. Set in a future-past when America and Europe have dissolved, settlers have set out to start from scratch leaving all technology and medicinal knowledge behind to start again. Full of knights and armor and swords and magic, a new queen who has been hidden away for 19 years is coming to the throne. Similar to Katniss and Triss in the above books, she is a badass, confident, intelligent, compassionate girl character and she does not pull any punches. With allusions to rape, physical abuse, drug use, and some pretty creepy stuff, this book may be aimed at teens and adults like me who love Young Adult Lit. more than middle-grade readers. Kelsey is a character I can not wait to introduce my daughters to. The second book in the series is a new release this summer, so it may be a few years yet until we find out just how Queen Kelsea fares. Highly recommended!  Check Availability
Date Posted
7/1/2015
Check Availability
Title
The Imperfectionists: a novel
Author
Tom Rachman
Review
This book does not give you anything you can expect.
It is a realistic and relatable, though not necessarily a happy, read filled with characters you want to truly understand.
The format is interesting, and the subject and settings not something I've come across.  Check Availability
Date Posted
7/1/2015
Title
We Are in a Book
Author
Mo Willems
Review
Built on a simple but unique idea, this story is filled with humor true to children in a situation everyone can relate to. Can't wait to share this with my class and experience their thoughts and reactions!  Check Availability
Date Posted
7/1/2015
Check Availability
Title
Snoring Beauty
Author
Bruce Hale
Review
This book is a playful twist on a classic story filled with advanced and imaginative vocabulary. I was charmed by the colorful characters from beginning to end, and it left me with a happy attitude with its positive morals of appreciation for self-worth and the value of others.  Check Availability
Date Posted
7/1/2015
Check Availability
Title
The Fall
Author
John Lescroart
Review
Another Dismas Hardy novel which introduces his daughter as a new attorney in his firm. The mystery is sort of weak because I was able to figure it out fairly early in the story. This is still one of my favorite series set in San Francisco.   Check Availability
Date Posted
6/30/2015
Check Availability
Title
Escape
Author
Barbara Delinsky
Review
One day Emily decides that she no longer likes her life, so she packs up and leaves. This story struck a chord, because sometimes I rush around too much, that I don't stop and appreciate just being alive. I liked how Emily takes the time to find out what kind of life she really wants to live. Good story!  Check Availability
Date Posted
6/30/2015
Check Availability
Title
Crazy Rich Asians
Author
Kevin Kwan
Review
Loved it! It was a tad long but none of the storylines were unnecessary so the length was fine. It was like reading a soap opera. They were crazy rich AND crazy, rich Asians! There was an overwhelming amount of characters, but the important ones stuck with me so I wasn't too confused on who was whom once I got into the thick of the book. I loved the intermixing of Chinese and English used and I loved the footnotes at the bottom so that I wasn't completely lost with the Chinese dialect and slang. This was a very enjoyable read. Another favorite for the year.  Check Availability
Date Posted
6/30/2015
Check Availability
Title
A Murder at Rosamund's Gate
Author
Susanna Calkins
Review
This book introduces Lucy Campion, a chambermaid in the home of a London magistrate in 17th Century London. When Lucy's brother is arrested for the murder of another servant in the household, Lucy starts digging out the truth. Excellent writing and vivid depiction of a tumultuous era. I read/reviewed "The Masque of a Murder," #3 in the series, and had to go back to the beginning!   Check Availability
Date Posted
6/29/2015
Check Availability
Title
Zoo
Author
James Patterson and Michael Ledwidge
Review
Fast paced and a bit scary, ZOO was a real page turner. The world Patterson and Ledwidge created where animals retake control of the land is realistic and makes the story a bit frightening as it seems the phenomenon could happen at any time. Filled with action, suspense, and questions of "what if?" ZOO was an engrossing read.   Check Availability
Date Posted
6/29/2015
116 reviews available