Reviews for 'Adults'


360 reviews available
Check Availability
Title
The Testing
Author
Joelle Charbonneau
Review
This book was a great read, it was compelling from the beginning of the story all the way until the end. It was fast paced as well as exciting and kept you trying to firgure the book out. It was well written and I highly recommend this book. I cannot wait to finish this series and maybe read more from this author.   Check Availability
Date Posted
8/23/2014
Check Availability
Title
The Drunken Botanist
Author
Amy Stewart
Review
What's the story behind the drink? This book will tell you. Biology and history step up to the bar in this fascinating compendium of plant-based knowledge. Thirsty readers can enjoy recipes along the way.   Check Availability
Date Posted
8/23/2014
Check Availability
Title
William Shakespeare's the Jedi Doth Return
Author
Ian Doescher
Review
Can Luke save his friends and stay on the Jedi path? In this version of Return of the Jedi the drama is high and Shakesperean. This is my favorite reinterpretation of Star Wars in a long time because it's equal parts Star Wars-nerdy and Shakespeare-nerdy. R2-D2 gives compelling monologues, bits of other classic plays are sprinkled into the story and Yoda speaks in haikus!   Check Availability
Date Posted
8/23/2014
Check Availability
Title
Persuasion
Author
Jane Austen
Review
My favorite Austen, this tale of spurned love and forgiveness gives hope to anyone who has had heartbreak and shattered dreams. Love does come, even late in life.   Check Availability
Date Posted
8/23/2014
Check Availability
Title
Mansfield Park
Author
Jane Austen
Review
Fanny is a wayward cousin brought into the good-intentioned home of the Betrams, but she still plays second-fiddle to the other occupants of the house until some mysterious visitors move to town and stir up trouble.   Check Availability
Date Posted
8/23/2014
Check Availability
Title
Fairy Tales from the Brothers Grimm
Author
Philip Pullman
Review
Pullman is a master of storytelling, so it's no shock that he could take on the classic fairy tales and reboot them. I appreciated that he took the time to read various versions of the stories and combine them into a master set. Each chapter has end notes that explain the origin of the story, the similarities to other tales and any other piece of random knowledge associated with them.   Check Availability
Date Posted
8/23/2014
Check Availability
Title
The Book Thief
Author
Markus Zusak
Review
I picked this up because it was supposed to be a classic, but I really found it hard to get through. Yes, a story about a young girl during the Holocaust is very poignant and the story's narrator, Death, is unique. I just didn't feel like it was one of the YA books that challenge the idea of simple-minded readers. Yes, there were emotional aspects, but none felt very complex.   Check Availability
Date Posted
8/23/2014
Check Availability
Title
How to Be a Woman
Author
Caitlin Moran
Review
I read this once a year because it leaves me excited and angry, in the best ways. Moran takes names and kicks butts in her quippy memoir that challenges the ideas around feminism in society and pop culture. As a well-known music writer, Moran has been exposed to the man's world of journalism and, like the rest of us, is astounded that we've only come so far in getting equality. Read this if you want to feel brash from a few weeks and have a spot for dismantling the patriarchy.   Check Availability
Date Posted
8/23/2014
Check Availability
Title
Three Musketeers
Author
Alexandre Dumas
Review
The three brave musketeers of Paris, and D'Artagnan, get caught up in political and social intrigue at every turn in this classic. D'Artagnan's love for his friends in only ever eclipsed by his love for a certain unattainable lady. Athos, Porthos and Aramis manage to find trouble wherever they go, but together the friends find clever ways to flee.  Check Availability
Date Posted
8/23/2014
Check Availability
Title
Eleanor and Park
Author
Rainbow Rowell
Review
This YA book is about that first pang of teenage love, but it builds into an emotional crescendo that is worthy of adult lit. Eleanor is new in town and Park is the one person at school that shows her kindness. At first we see glimpses of the familiar cringe-inducing world of high school, but then the surface is scratched and the home live's of the two leads is revealed. Park is struggling to meet the expectations of his father and Eleanor is an a daily living-hell created by her stepdad. The last pages of the book take the characters to an adult-level of drama and emotional that still leaves me chilled.   Check Availability
Date Posted
8/23/2014
Check Availability
Title
Dune
Author
Frank Herbert
Review
This sci-fi classic takes us to a dune-world full of the scariest worms you'll ever see, intoxicating spice and political intrigue. Will Paul and his mother survive the attempts on their life to fulfill the prophecies?   Check Availability
Date Posted
8/23/2014
Check Availability
Title
Antiques Con
Author
Barbara Allan
Review
While the reader is exposed to a great deal of forensics detail after a strange murder occurs, the heroine is embroiled in her own personal mystery that is connected to her job. Both are intertwined tales that capture the reader’s attention all the way through.  Check Availability
Date Posted
8/22/2014
Check Availability
Title
Landline
Author
Rainbow Rowell
Review
Rainbow Rowell is a master storyteller. Her characters become your friends; her characters are YOU. More than a story about a marriage, LANDLINE is about relationships and Rowell examines those in LANDLINE with aching brilliance. Hasn't everyone wished they had said things and done things that they didn't have the courage to at the moment? LANDLINE takes that idea and runs with it. Sometimes there are second chances.  Check Availability
Date Posted
8/22/2014
Check Availability
Title
Big Little Lies
Author
Liane Moriarty
Review
Liane Moriarty has done it again – written a book that kept me up way too late because I couldn’t put it down. She has a knack for creating characters who are so believable they could easily be someone you know. Big Little Lies is a story of parents acting badly. It is also a smart and witty story about the real lives of children, teens, friends, husbands, wives, second wives, and exes. You are teased from the beginning with something awful that happens at the annual Pirriwee Public School fund raising. You know the what but not the who or the how. Along the way you discover some of the dangerous little lies that people tell just to be able to face the day. I couldn’t wait to get to the end to find out what happened that night but at the same time I was sorry that I wouldn’t be reading any more about the inhabitants of Perriwee  Check Availability
Date Posted
8/22/2014
Check Availability
Title
You Are Here
Author
Jennifer E. Smith
Review
This was a really cute story. The road trip aspect really made this book a lot of fun and lighthearted, although there is some more serious issues thrown in as well. When i first started reading this I was confused for the first few chapters because I kept mixing up Peter and Patrick, but after that I got into the story and started to enjoy it. The plot was a little bit slow paced at first and i am glad that Peter went along with Emma otherwise it wouldn't have been nearly as good. I thought the second half of this book was really good and I loved the way things came together at the end. The last few chapters especially just made me happy. I liked both Emma and Peter as main characters. I thought that the switching of perspectives is the only thing that made me like Peter, I think without that he just would have been annoying. Although, they both kept doing things that were really annoying to me, overall, I did like them. Anyone who is a fan of road trip books along with a little dash of love and learning how to move on along the way should give this one a try.   Check Availability
Date Posted
8/22/2014
Check Availability
Title
How My Summer Went Up in Flames
Author
Jennifer Salvato Doktorski
Review
How My Summer Went Up in Flames was a bundle of joy. I had SO much fun reading this book, laughing with the characters, yelling at the main protagonist (more about that later), witnessing all the sight seeing they got to see, and basically solidifying my love for road trip books. Why aren't authors writing more road trip books? Don't they know the book would become an instant success among contemporary lovers? Like many readers, I have yet to read a road trip novel that I didn't enjoy. Of course How My Summer Went Up in Flames might have won itself merit points at the beginning for being a road trip novel, but the characters and the plot (at least second half of it) are what made me love this book and devour it in a single day.   Check Availability
Date Posted
8/22/2014
Check Availability
Title
Landline
Author
Rainbow Rowell
Review
I absolutely loved this book. I know everyone is raving Rainbow's book, but there is a reason for that. They are so reliable, consuming and books that you cannot put down. I cannot wait to read another by Rainbow Rowell and I would highly recommend this book and other books from this author.   Check Availability
Date Posted
8/22/2014
Check Availability
Title
The Unwanteds
Author
Lisa McMann
Review
This children's fantasy fiction is akin to 'Hunger Games' , 'Divergent' and the like. In it you will see a contrast between the creative and logical worlds of humans. The more logically minded who rule in the land of Quill have decided that all those who are creative are unworthy of their land, therefore being named 'Unwanteds' and need to be eliminated. But what happens behind the gates of Death Farm where elimination takes place? Is the land of Quill really better off with out the creative minded persons? This fantasy fiction will journey you through with exciting twists and turns as the characters answer these questions and more!  Check Availability
Date Posted
8/22/2014
Check Availability
Title
Blackout
Author
Mira Grant
Review
The last book in the Newsflesh trilogy held such great promise. It was full of action, suspense, and everything a good zombie book should contain. However, the ending seemed anticlimactic. That is my number one peeve, and possibly my only.   Check Availability
Date Posted
8/22/2014
Check Availability
Title
Thank You, Jeeves
Author
P.G. Wodehouse
Review
Another laugh-out-loud story filled with the antics of dim-witted aristocrat Bertie Wooster, his erudite valet, Jeeves, and his broad circle of eccentric acquaintances. The plotting is zany, the language is sophisticated, and the result is a happy and satisfied reader.  Check Availability
Date Posted
8/22/2014
360 reviews available