Reviews for 'Adults'


323 reviews available
Check Availability
Title
Lean Mean Thirteen
Author
Janet Evanovich
Review
#13 was great! Stephanie's X-husband, Dick (his name also describes his character) disappears and she is #1 suspect for his murder. Needless to say this is only the beginning and Morelli and Ranger have to keep passing her back and forth for protection. In this book she also does in two more bodyguards and Lulu falls in love. Fun book!  Check Availability
Date Posted
8/19/2014
Check Availability
Title
The Gate Thief
Author
Orson Scott Card
Review
This is the sequel to "The Lost Gate," and the better of the two, as far as I am concerned. Many of the characters from the first book are brought back, many of them with more development, and there are plenty of new characters added to spice things up. This book is far easier to get into than the first, and, aside from a few trivial things, a lot more interesting.   Check Availability
Date Posted
8/18/2014
Check Availability
Title
News From Heaven
Author
Jennifer Haigh
Review
A sequel, of sorts , to Baker Towers, this is a book of short stories that connect to one another and gives you a sense of what happened to some of the characters (and their children) you learned about in Baker Towers. Be sure to read Baker Towers first and then be sure to read this one!  Check Availability
Date Posted
8/18/2014
Check Availability
Title
Baker Towers
Author
Jennifer Haigh
Review
A wonderfully written story about a mining town in Pennsylvania and some of the people living in it. An entertaining and moving story that kept me turning pages.  Check Availability
Date Posted
8/18/2014
Check Availability
Title
Razing the Dead
Author
Sheila Connolly
Review
Researching the history of a large parcel of land for any trace of obstacles that may interfere with a proposed building project brings many talents together to not only get to the heart of the matter but to solve a murder as well. There is a lot of detail uncovered in this great book that will keep the reader’s attention.  Check Availability
Date Posted
8/18/2014
Check Availability
Title
Twelve Sharp
Author
Janet Evanovich
Review
#3,10-11- and now 12 are my favorites. When you think she couldn't possibly have any more stalkers there is a twist. Ranger is the stalker. This is very touching, very funny in parts, and one of those you literally can't put down. Thank goodness all of these are such easy, quick reads.   Check Availability
Date Posted
8/17/2014
Check Availability
Title
Perfect You
Author
Elizabeth Scott
Review
Perfect You was another perfect YA read for me. The story focused on the different relationships in Kate's life : with her parents who are in the middle of a huge crises, with her best friend Anna who after a total makeover just literally dumped her for the popular crowd, and with Will, a "nice young man" with the reputation of a Casanova.
Those relationships are complexe and thanks to Elizebeth Scott's talent, it only takes a few pages to get into Kate's life (into her head and her heart) and feel everything she feels.
Sometimes I could totally identify myself with her : her insecurites, her desires, her hopes reminded me of my own teenage years. She was truly a fantastic lovable heroine who could maybe teach you a lesson or two.
I wish the author would write a story for Kate's lost best friend Anna. Maybe a redemption story, who knows. Even she was a fantastic character. I felt like she too, deserved a happy ending.  Check Availability
Date Posted
8/17/2014
Check Availability
Title
The Rescue
Author
Nicholas Sparks
Review
I first found out about this book by my dearest sister who said that I should read it, because it is a really good romance book and me being me I’m a sucker for romance but that's just me. I can honestly say that lots of people did not like this book at all based on what I read on the reviews but who cares what others think I can say that I actually enjoyed reading one of Nicholas Sparks’s New York Times Best Seller books . At first when you read the book it may seem boring but once you keep reading and you get to the good lovey dovey parts you aren’t going to want to put it down. I think if you love reading romantic books with drama in it, this would be the perfect book for you because Sparks shows a natural way of portraying a complicated and intense love story because there is some type of conflict in the book like not saying what one is thinking to the partner in the relationship or like having pasts that haunt both people in the relationship causing them to have difficulty in earning each other’s trust. Spark’s knows how to portray the book by using figurative language and comparing things so us the readers can imagine the plot that is happening. This book is one of the best books I’ve read I think if you love his other books to then you will love this one.   Check Availability
Date Posted
8/17/2014
Check Availability
Title
Teacher Man
Author
Frank McCourt
Review
Not as good as Angela's Ashes, better than 'Tis. McCourt is unfailingly honest about what it was like for him to teach English at four high schools and one college of varying levels of quality. Unfortunately, what it was like for him was pretty bleak. Well-trained in the Catholic art of Examining your Conscience (his words), McCourt also supplies a ready stream of insights into his personality. I can't fault him for this, but it made me sad for this Irish American who was so consistently hard on himself. What works best are the moments where he connects with his students, whether vocational students just trying not to fail high school to the brightest and best of Stuyvesant High. I came away with a higher appreciation of the struggles high school teachers face  Check Availability
Date Posted
8/17/2014
Check Availability
Title
The Artificial Silk Girl
Author
Irmgard Keun
Review
An interesting kind of coming-of-age story of a young lady in Germany. While written in the early 1930, the themes of the content span the generations and the language is modern.  Check Availability
Date Posted
8/16/2014
Check Availability
Title
The New Jewish Wedding
Author
Anita Diamant
Review
This book was recommended to me and my fiancé by the cantor who will be officiating at our wedding, next May. Providing solid historical references/explanation for all the rituals in a Jewish wedding ceremony and celebration, the author provides clear explanations and more liberal and modern alternatives, alongside descriptions of the original and Orthodox versions. It's well written and very helpful. I enjoyed learning about the history behind the rituals, even if some of what I learned doesn't sit well with me. The older traditions are far from what a feminist would want to do so the adaptations offered are very appreciated.   Check Availability
Date Posted
8/16/2014
Check Availability
Title
One More Thing, Stories and Other Stories
Author
B.J. Novak
Review
Funny, creative, and quirky. These short stories had me laughing out loud at times and scratching my head at other times, because they are so odd and yet relatable. Read it in one night.   Check Availability
Date Posted
8/16/2014
Check Availability
Title
The Noble Hustle
Author
Colson Whitehead
Review
The Noble Hustle by Colson Whitehead details him getting into the World Series of Poker. He's played for fun for years, but because of a magazine/book deal, he gets a chance to do the World Series. He's hysterically funny as he writes about his poker coach (It will be like The Blind Side!) going on field trips to Atlantic City, flashbacks on how he got started playing poker, and comparing poker to writing. His descriptions of fellow poker players are perfect, one he calls Country Time (for the guy is in no hurry) and Methy Mikes (they're messy, have a meth vibe about them) Perfect for poker/non poker fans.  Check Availability
Date Posted
8/15/2014
Check Availability
Title
Designated Daughters
Author
Margaret Maron
Review
A North Carolina judge, whose large family often rallies around its members when tackling a challenge, faces the death of one of its own under suspicious circumstances. The many memories held by each are woven into the story to provide clues that help to reach a conclusion.   Check Availability
Date Posted
8/15/2014
Check Availability
Title
Shotgun Lovesongs
Author
Nickolas Butler
Review
I enjoyed this book a great deal. The book is about a group of friends and their shifting relationships with each other, as well as with the town in which they grew up and where many still live. Each chapter is told from the perspective of one of the characters, at times sharing his/her perspective on the same period of time or events. This book is about friendship, loyalty, forgiveness, romance and taking risks (or not taking them). Well written and entertaining.   Check Availability
Date Posted
8/15/2014
Check Availability
Title
Paper Towns
Author
John Green
Review
Paper Towns centers on the relationship between high school seniors Quentin Jacobsen and his popular and enigmatic neighbor, Margo Roth Spiegelman. Although it initially appears that the story will be just a light-hearted adolescent tale, it unfolds into some deeper themes about how perceptions can shape who we are. Some people are "mirrors", merely reflecting back what they think the world wants to see, while others are "windows", letting others see into their unique personalities. Quentin finds that sometimes the person you imagine is not the same as the real person. The plot involves a mystery that keeps you turning the pages, while the deeper themes give you food for thought long after you've finished the book.  Check Availability
Date Posted
8/15/2014
Check Availability
Title
Joe College
Author
Tom Perrotta
Review
This is the 2nd book by this author that I read this summer and I don't think it was nearly as good as the first. The narrator of the story attends Yale and struggles with his identity at school vs his identity when he returns home to NJ. When home, he helps drive his father's lunch truck and dates a former high school classmate who he believes none at Yale would approve of were they to meet. A quick and somewhat fun read but not a lot of juice to the story.  Check Availability
Date Posted
8/14/2014
Check Availability
Title
Home of the Braised
Author
Julie Hyzy
Review
The latest offering in the White House Chef Mysteries, "Home of the Braised" is about White House Chef Olivia Parras, her trusty sous chefs Bucky and Cyan and her fiance Gav, a Secret Service Agent who helps her solve yet another murder mystery.
Don't forget Josh, the adorable son of the President, who helps her inside of the kitchen and out!
A fun read!  Check Availability
Date Posted
8/14/2014
Check Availability
Title
Gil Hodges : the Brooklyn bums, the Miracle Mets, and the Extraordinary Life of a Baseball Legend
Author
Tom Clavin and Danny Peary
Review
This is an insightful biography of an unsung baseball great: Gil Hodges. Starring for the Brooklyn and Los Angeles Dodgers and finishing his career by managing the 1969 New York Mets to the World Championship, Hodges' life tragically ended too soon when he had a heart attack soon after.
The big first baseman, who was the model of the strong and silent type, posted good enough numbers in all baseball categories to be elected to the Hall of Fame in Cooperstown--but no one can say why he was never elected!
This is a great read for the serious baseball fan.  Check Availability
Date Posted
8/14/2014
Check Availability
Title
Animal, Vegetable, Miracle: A Year of Food Life
Author
Barbara Kingsolver
Review
I loved this book. I think it has a very important message to spread about food in our country and I wish everyone could read this and in turn become a little more connected with where their food comes from. I was impressed with how Kingsolver recounted the year in such an easy-to-read manner while weaving in the important facts about food in today's society. I highly recommend this book to anyone and everyone.  Check Availability
Date Posted
8/14/2014
323 reviews available