Reviews for 'Teens'


21 reviews available
Check Availability
Title
I'll Give You the Sun
Author
Jandy Nelson
Review
I really enjoyed this book because it told a very interesting story in a unique way. It was told from the point of view of a brother and a sister; one being 14 and the other story at 16. It encapsulates the feelings of growing up, first love, and loss in a book that you won't be able to put down. The two stories meshed together in the end in a very emotional way. I would definitely recommend this book to any teenager or adult.   Check Availability
Date Posted
7/5/2015
Check Availability
Title
The Mark of the Thief
Author
Jennifer A. Nielsen
Review
I didn't like this book as much as The False Prince, which remains as my favorite Niesen novel so far. And I would give it two out of five stars. Nic is a slave in the mines who finds a magical amulet that belonged to the late Julius Caesar. The amulet then bestows him magical powers, where he is in a race to save the empire. The main thing that really killed the book for me is when the reader sees Nic in the mines, where he talks back to the overseer, decides which orders are good, and which ones he won't obey, or just flatly refuses to do it. In my opinion, this not only lessens the impact and reality of this story, but also dismisses and belittles the sacrifices and hardships of being a slave in the mines. I also would have liked to see more character development, both in the protagonist, and with the supporting cast.   Check Availability
Date Posted
6/23/2015
Check Availability
Title
The Count of Monte Cristo
Author
Alexandre Dumas
Review
This book is quite good, except the story is slightly disjointed and confusing and boring at times. The main character wants the opposite thing at the same time. It skips out large parts it should have described a little better. But overall it has a good storyline and is a good read.   Check Availability
Date Posted
6/22/2015
Check Availability
Title
#scandal
Author
Sarah Ockler
Review
In today's world everyone has an online account. We are constantly retweeting, favorite, posting, and tagging. On the night of prom it's still the same. Pictures are posted, selfies are taken, and memories are uploaded. Lucy Vacarro's best friend, Ellie is sick so Lucy goes to prom with Ellie's boyfriend. He's name is Cole Foster and it just happens to be that Lucy has had a major crush on this guy for four years. They have a good time, dance, and go to a party afterwards. They kiss and the next morning Lucy's phone is missing, and pictures have been posted from her Facebook account. Pictures of her and Cole together and of other classmates doing #scandal things. So... who did it?

Hmm... This was a good book. I liked it, but there was nothing special about it. I found it lacking in some areas. For example there were boring parts and things that didn't make sense. The love portion was tiny and confusing. I liked the characters and the way the author wrote about the dangers of online. I am not freaking out about it like I usually would... The ending was horrible in my opinion. I was unimpressed Sarah Ockler...   Check Availability
Date Posted
6/20/2015
Check Availability
Title
Entwined
Author
Heather Dixon
Review
Entwined is a great book to read. It is based on the story of The Twelve Dancing Princesses. It is an amazing blend of fantasy and mystery. Anyone who loves magic, castles, and dancing should read. There is a lot of dancing in this is book!  Check Availability
Date Posted
6/19/2015
Check Availability
Title
The False Prince
Author
Jennifer A. Nielsen
Review
This is a must-read. This story is fraught with danger and intrigue, where oftentimes the reader is unsure who is tricking whom. In the distant fantasy realm of Carthya, a fracturing kingdom, a noble named Conner devises a cunning and dangerous plan to reunite his homeland; create a false prince to act as king. He finds orphans off the streets and tests them to see who should be his prince. Enter Sage; a witty, resourceful orphan who obviously has more knowledge than he's letting on. This tale asks perhaps one of the most important questions: do the ends justify the means?  Check Availability
Date Posted
6/17/2015
Check Availability
Title
The Glass Sentence
Author
S. E. Grove
Review
This book is truly something else. The amount of thought and creativity in this book is truly astounding. Highly recommend this book. The Glass Sentence takes place in a world after the Great Disruption, where the world has been plunged into different time eras, from the great Ice Ages of old, to the sophisticated cities of the distant future. Certain regions are in certain ages, and the diverse cultures illustrated by Grove are vivid and realistic, teeming with a life-like air about them.  Check Availability
Date Posted
6/17/2015
Check Availability
Title
Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone
Author
J.K. Rowling
Review
Right now I am cursing myself for not reading this book sooner...

I loved this book so much! I liked how I could picture everything and the story had a really nice flow. There we no dull moments in this book and I couldn't put it down. The characters were funny and lovable. I recommend this book to anyone who hasn't read it.  Check Availability
Date Posted
6/17/2015
Check Availability
Title
Paper Towns
Author
John Green
Review
Beautiful book. Very descriptive and contains all the qualities of a novel written by John Green. Like Margo(book character), this entire book is a mystery woven into the pages. Well done, John Green! :)  Check Availability
Date Posted
6/16/2015
Check Availability
Title
Me and Earl and the Dying Girl
Author
Jesse Andrews
Review
A for Andrews

Hmm... I have been waiting for a long time to get my hands on this book and I got it and I read it. It was REALLY, REALLY hilarious. The book was about Greg Gaines, a senior in high school who has no friends and is friends with everyone. He isn't in any group and in every group. One day his mom tells him that is friend, Rachel, is diagnosed with leukemia. The book is kind of a journal for Greg as he deals with this issue. In the very beginning he mentions that this story isn't a touchy one and I would have to agree. It had emotions but not a lot from Greg. I felt like he didn't know what to deal and how to express himself. Other's feelings were heard throughout the story. Rachel becomes Greg's friend and he shows her the films that he and his best friend, Earl, have been making. When I was reading it I wasn't comparing it to The Fault in Our Stars at all because the two books are very different when it comes to writing style, plot, and characters. I don't regret reading it and I would definitely read Jesse Andrews' next books. I can't wait to see the movie too!   Check Availability
Date Posted
6/15/2015
Check Availability
Title
The Decaying Empire
Author
Laura Thalassa
Review
I finished it! It only took me one day to read and I loved every minute of this. In the second book to the amazing series, this book continues to be utter amazement. This book was filled with action and heart-wrenching romance. I loved the characters and the plot was never predicable. I NEED A THIRD BOOK AND I NEED IT NOW!

In this book SPOLIER* Ember wakes up from her coma after ten months of being asleep. In her last mission she was shot and has been spliced. Dane wakes her up and sends her back to Caden after realizing that Caden needs her. They catch up and quickly make plans to escape, but something always stops them.

(I would say for 13+)  Check Availability
Date Posted
6/14/2015
Check Availability
Title
Cinder
Author
Marissa Meyer
Review
This story about a cyborg girl thousands of years in the future is a great summer read. It's a mix of Cinderella, Star Wars, and The Terminator. This story is only one of the four books in this series. If you enjoy this read, also make sure to check out Scarlet, Cress, Winter, and Fairest. Mmmm, new book smell!  Check Availability
Date Posted
6/14/2015
Check Availability
Title
Fifteenth Summer
Author
Michelle Dalton
Review
2.5 Stars

This book was cute. It was a small love story that I enjoyed reading. It was nothing too special, but it did put a smile on my face.

Every summer Chelsea Silver and her family take a trip to Bluepointe Michigan, but this year is different. This year Chelsea's grandmother has passed away and things seem sad. When she meets a cute buy in a bookstore things might turn around, for everyone.  Check Availability
Date Posted
6/13/2015
Check Availability
Title
Satch and Me
Author
Dan Gutman
Review
I enjoyed this book because I like to read baseball themed books, especially ones that have historical information. I recommend this book to people who like baseball.  Check Availability
Date Posted
6/11/2015
Check Availability
Title
Crown Of Midnight
Author
Sarah J Maas
Review
Sarah J Maas follows Crown Of Glass with more romance and even more action from the beloved heroine of the series,Celaena Sardothien. If you have yet to read Crown Of Glass, you're guaranteed to be left in the dark of Celaena's new rivals and dark past. Crown Of Midnight provides an enchantment of fantasy and magic as it will leave you anticipating the next installment.  Check Availability
Date Posted
6/11/2015
Check Availability
Title
The Vanishing Girl
Author
Laura Thalassa
Review
I was not, I repeat, NOT prepared for this book. Again I had second thoughts about reading it. This book is for mature readers who love adventure and a spicy love stories. I loved every minute of it and could not put it down the whole day. Here's what it's about.

Ember Pierce just turned eighteen and the dreams have not stopped. When Ember falls asleep she disappears from her room and is transported elsewhere for ten minutes, and ten minutes only. When she finds out that she was genetically modified by the government when she was a baby, Ember is taken away to a facility that trains people like her, transporters.

A MUST READ!  Check Availability
Date Posted
6/10/2015
Check Availability
Title
City of Heavenly Fire
Author
Cassandra Clare
Review
This is the last book in my favorite book series! I love this book so much I've read it 3 times and it is a love story with action and magic mixed in.  Check Availability
Date Posted
6/10/2015
Check Availability
Title
Even In Paradise
Author
Chelsey Philpot
Review
AHG! One of the best books I have ever read! EVER! I could NOT put it down and loved every inch of it. I actually picked up this book twice before reading it claiming that it wouldn't be as good. Wrong. This book is mysterious, wonderful, extremely hard to explain, and in every single way perfect.You must read it. I will say nothing else. Okay. BYE.  Check Availability
Date Posted
6/9/2015
Check Availability
Title
Almost Home
Author
Joan Bauer
Review
I've been meaning to read this book for the longest time! I think I got it two years ago because of the adorable puppy on the cover and the author. Joan Bauer is one of my favorite authors because her books are always so deep and make you think. This book was amazing. It was very sad and sweet.   Check Availability
Date Posted
6/7/2015
Check Availability
Title
The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight
Author
Jennifer E. Smith
Review
This book was very predictable and cheesy, and yet it still made me happy. It's a cute book that I would recommend to anyone who wants to read a short, happy, love story.  Check Availability
Date Posted
6/6/2015
21 reviews available